Post-OBGYN Rotation Update: Benign Gyn

I started the rotation on “benign gyn,” an inpatient surgical service which dealt with every gyn issue that was not related to some sort of cancer.  There were typically 3-5 students with the team at any given time, so sometimes there weren’t enough OR cases or patients in-house so that everyone could do something each day.  But we made the best of it.  The cases I did get to see were really interesting.  I saw a number of urogynecology cases that served as treatment for organ prolapse or urinary incontinence; some minor operations that allowed for sampling of the patient’s uterus to get more information about a possible cause of her symptoms (abnormal bleeding, infertility, pain, etc); and a few sterilization procedures such as salpingectomies (removal of the Fallopian tubes).  I saw a few patients on consults with the 2nd year resident and learned about how to work up things like abnormally heavy bleeding in the ED.  I also developed pretty good rapport with some of my patients, even coming back on the morning after my official last day on the service to pre-round on one of them for continuity’s sake (I think the team was impressed that I did that!).  Most patients were discharged within a few days of their operations, but there were a handful who stuck around due to complications of surgery, such as infections or constipation; we got to know those patients well.

The great thing about this part of the rotation is that the housestaff spent time giving us tips on how to do well in the OR–how to read up on the patients and the cases, proper etiquette, etc.  To be honest, I wish I’d had OBGYN before surgery, even though I originally chose to put surgery first; I received preparation during the former that I saw neither hide nor hair of in the latter.   The great thing about this part of the rotation is that the housestaff spent time giving us tips on how to do well in the OR–how to read up on the patients and the cases, proper etiquette, etc.  To be honest, I wish I’d had OBGYN before surgery, even though I originally chose to put surgery first; I received preparation during the former that I saw neither hide nor hair of in the latter.

Leave a Reply

