Post-D&T “Bootcamp” Update

Bootcamp week went well. We learned a little bit about laboratory testing in the hospital–where it’s done at Vandy, what tests are commonly done for common presentations, etc. It ended up being a lot more laid back than most of us were expecting; at times I felt as if the professor didn’t know we’d just taken Step 1!

Our production of The Vagina Monologues went well. About 60 people showed up, which means that we made around $300 for our chosen beneficiaries. Everyone seemed thoroughly impressed at what we were able to accomplish in such limited time.

We have orientation for our clerkships today. I’ve been in orientation for surgery since about 7:30 this morning, and I’ll be going until 5 this evening. So far, we’ve been introduced to our (rather gnarly) schedule, seen standardized patients, and practiced tying knots and suturing. We have a discussion for the standardized patient case in a few minutes.

This was a relatively quick update–I’m at the end of my lunch break and should be getting back upstairs–but I thought I’d say something about how I’m doing before I officially start my plastic surgery subspecialty tomorrow. I will say that excitement has more or less won out over fear. God is always with me, and he will see me through anything; I hope to hold onto that for as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

